DragonByte Tech | vBulletin Mods & Addons - Powered by vBulletin





User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Remote server or file not found


Forum: Twitch Streaming Suite Lite Support

Support / Suggestions for Twitch Streaming Suite.
Click here to buy!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)

    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Remote server or file not found

    hello, i have problem when i add chanel have Twitch.Tv - Game Community Remote server or file not found anyone can help me ? pls

    i can't add chanel got error


    Remote server or file not found

    You tried to access the address Twitch.Tv - Game Community, which is currently unavailable. Please make sure that the web address (URL) is correctly spelled and punctuated, then try reloading the page.
    Make sure your internet connection is active and check whether other applications that rely on the same connection are working.
    Check that the setup of any internet security software is correct and does not interfere with ordinary web browsing.
    If you are behind a firewall on a Local Area Network and think this may be causing problems, talk to your systems administrator.
    Try pressing the F12 key on your keyboard and disabling proxy servers, unless you know that you are required to use a proxy to connect to the internet. Reload the page.
    Need help?
    Open the Opera Help.
    Go to Opera's online support desk.
    what is problem can help pls ?
    Last edited by Belazor; 28th November 2013 at 15:55.
    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

  2. #2
    Founder
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)
    Belazor's Avatar
    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Age
    30
    Posts
    27,743
    Blog Entries
    13
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Please upload the contents of the upload folder to the folder where your forum files reside. The error means the product was not uploaded correctly to your server
    Fillip Hannisdal
    Founder & Programming Director
    DragonByte Technologies http://www.DragonByte-Tech.com


    Please do not Private Message me with support requests or product questions. PMs are only for exchanging sensitive information (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
    Please do not Private Message me with business related queries (refunds, complaints, feedback, etc). Decado is the person to PM for those issues.
    Please do not Private Message Decado with support requests or forum errors.

    When I say "Hotfix Released" it means you should re-download the product and re-upload the files.
    Like our products? Want to be notified on social media networks when we release updates or new products? Click the buttons below to Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter and Follow us on Google+!
    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)

    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Belazor View Post
    Please upload the contents of the upload folder to the folder where your forum files reside. The error means the product was not uploaded correctly to your server
    Hello - Belazor

    upload files upload for my director, and have error not fixed what is problem ?
    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

  4. #4
    Founder
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)
    Belazor's Avatar
    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Age
    30
    Posts
    27,743
    Blog Entries
    13
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Are you sure you're uploading the files in the correct folder? If your forum is located in /public_html/forum then you need to upload the files to the forum folder, NOT the public_html folder.

    Can you verify that the "upload" folder in the mod you've downloaded contains the twitch.php file?
    Fillip Hannisdal
    Founder & Programming Director
    DragonByte Technologies http://www.DragonByte-Tech.com


    Please do not Private Message me with support requests or product questions. PMs are only for exchanging sensitive information (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
    Please do not Private Message me with business related queries (refunds, complaints, feedback, etc). Decado is the person to PM for those issues.
    Please do not Private Message Decado with support requests or forum errors.

    When I say "Hotfix Released" it means you should re-download the product and re-upload the files.
    Like our products? Want to be notified on social media networks when we release updates or new products? Click the buttons below to Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter and Follow us on Google+!
    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)

    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    yes i upload all files forum folders :S /www/forum

    when i add new chanel say Remote server or file not found

    pls help





    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

  6. #6
    Founder
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)
    Belazor's Avatar
    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Age
    30
    Posts
    27,743
    Blog Entries
    13
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Could you please create and PM me with a temporary FTP and AdminCP account?

    For security reasons, we recommend you create a new FTP account only for DBTech support, then disable or delete it after we have both confirmed the issue has been solved and there are no further issues.

    The same applies to AdminCP accounts; they should ideally be temporary accounts created for us only. If we have created an account on your site already, you can optionally boost that account to Administrator and then de-admin this account once the issue has been solved.

    If you use a .htaccess password protection for your AdminCP directory, it is recommended that you create a new authorised user for DBTech and remove this user once the issue has been solved.

    Please test any temporary accounts you create to ensure that the FTP account has access to the forum files, and that the AdminCP account can access the administrative controls for the product we are assisting you with.

    Ensuring this is all in order before submitting the information will significantly speed up the process of assisting you. We will alert you via PM if there's any issues with the login information you have provided.

    When sending the PM, for your security you should also un-tick the "Save a copy in my Sent Items folder" checkbox. When the access details have been received, we will delete the PM from our inbox. Ensuring you have not kept a copy of the PM reduces the risk of security breaches.

    Thank you for helping us debug our products and allowing us to assist you, we appreciate it
    Fillip Hannisdal
    Founder & Programming Director
    DragonByte Technologies http://www.DragonByte-Tech.com


    Please do not Private Message me with support requests or product questions. PMs are only for exchanging sensitive information (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
    Please do not Private Message me with business related queries (refunds, complaints, feedback, etc). Decado is the person to PM for those issues.
    Please do not Private Message Decado with support requests or forum errors.

    When I say "Hotfix Released" it means you should re-download the product and re-upload the files.
    Like our products? Want to be notified on social media networks when we release updates or new products? Click the buttons below to Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter and Follow us on Google+!
    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)

    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Belazor, ok i send ftp and admin cp password, please check pm and very thanks Belazor.
    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

  8. #8
    Founder
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)
    Belazor's Avatar
    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Age
    30
    Posts
    27,743
    Blog Entries
    13
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    The issue is that your server does not have cURL enabled. The cURL library is required for this mod to function.

    Please contact your host and ask them to add cURL support to your PHP installation if you don't know how to do this yourself or don't have access to recompiling PHP.
    Fillip Hannisdal
    Founder & Programming Director
    DragonByte Technologies http://www.DragonByte-Tech.com


    Please do not Private Message me with support requests or product questions. PMs are only for exchanging sensitive information (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
    Please do not Private Message me with business related queries (refunds, complaints, feedback, etc). Decado is the person to PM for those issues.
    Please do not Private Message Decado with support requests or forum errors.

    When I say "Hotfix Released" it means you should re-download the product and re-upload the files.
    Like our products? Want to be notified on social media networks when we release updates or new products? Click the buttons below to Like us on Facebook, Follow us on Twitter and Follow us on Google+!
    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Level 0 (0 Loyalty Points)

    User InfoThanks / Tagging InfoGifts / Achievements / AwardsActivity Stats
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Thanks Belazor i contact my host provaider and ask add cURL,

    sorry i don't know good eng thanks Belazor
    0 0 0
     
    Remote server or file not found Send PM  

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. [vB 4.1.x] Invalid file type found. Please go back
    By keiths in forum vBDownloads Lite Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th May 2012, 07:16
  2. DownloadsII was found on this server
    By iask in forum Pre-Sales Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th October 2010, 16:02

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
This website uses cookies
We use cookies to store session information to facilitate remembering your login information, to allow you to save website preferences, to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners.