Status
Not open for further replies.

RK KINGKONG

Customer
#word and ; Twitter-style
Sends a forum notification to subscribed users

so I read and seen this now how exactly do I use this , i see a spot for it in profile settings "You have no subscribed hash tags" . theres 3 areas for it but what goes there , im new to all this so im very confused and can use specific details you know , like for DUMMIES

THANKS

profile.php?do=dbtech_usertag_hashsubscription - on that page, you can type in new words to subscribe to.

If, say, you subscribe to cats and someone then types #cats followed by ; you will receive an alert that someone has written a post that's tagged with cats :)

what are the chances of someone adding a ; to the end of the word for you to get a notification . i thought this was something like that of a word i can add like my user name #RK KINGKONG; in a thread and anyone posting there it would notify me as if it were through email... why would i subscribe to word ? and who will actually add ; to the end of a word seriously unless im just that stupid this almost seems pointless. please explain further

For the same reason people do it on Twitter :)

I have no further explanation, perhaps Cosmic can elaborate though.

yes on TWITTER I am aware they use a # ---- which ever word to create a group for people to become a part of which they can follow this group where does the ; come into play Cosmic Fillip H.

Fillip H.s explanation is correct - it's a twitter feature we added to our mod. On twitter people use it for a couple of reasons: Firstly it can be a particular topic you are interested in, say for instance it's the PS3. You could add PS3 to your subscriptions and as people get used to the mod they'd add #ps3 to their posts when discussing it.